The people's voice of reason

Alabama Primary election results

Alabama Republicans and Democrats both went to the polls on Tuesday to elect their party's nominees for the November 5 general election. 17% of the registered voters in Alabama bothered to participate in the two primaries.

“Alabama voters received timely unofficial election results as evidence of a safe, secure, and transparent election,” Alabama Secretary of State Wes Allen said in a statement on Wednesday. “I am proud that the unofficial election results for every county in Alabama were made available to the public on the Secretary of State’s website last night.”

Secretary Allen extends his gratitude to Alabama’s local election officials for their vital role in the administration of yesterday’s election.

“As Secretary of State, and a former probate judge, I know first-hand the hard work it takes to successfully administer free and fair elections,” said Secretary Allen. “I want to thank our local election officials for conducting election night reporting and helping us to ensure timely delivery of unofficial election results to Alabama voters.”

At the top of the Republican primary ballot was President of the United States.

There was no drama here. On the Republican side, former President Donald J. Trump (R) was the overwhelming victor. Trump received 83.30% of the vote (486,883 votes). Former Ambassador Nikki Haley had 12.92% (75,501 votes). The rest were divided among: Ryan L. Binkley 0.09% (500), Chris Christie 0.24% (1,406), Ron DeSantis 1.40% (8,184), Vivek Ramaswamy 0.31% (1,807), David Stuckenberg 0.13% (734), and Uncommitted. Haley only carried Vermont so admitted the obvious on early Monday morning and suspended her campaign for President.

On the Democratic side, President Joseph R. Biden (D) received 89.51% (165,567 votes). Congressman Dean Phillips (Michigan) received 4.50% (8,321). Uncommitted received 5.99% (11,085 votes). 184,973 total votes were cast in the Democratic primary versus 584,524 in the Republican. Phillips has now suspended his presidential campaign.

In the Republican race for Chief Justice of the Alabama Supreme Courte, former state Senator Bryan Taylor was defeated for the open seat by Associate Justice Sarah Stewart. Stewart received 61.57% of the vote (334,129 votes) to Taylor’s 38.43% (208,522). Stewart is the first Republican woman elected Chief Justice in Alabama history.

Republican incumbent Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh easily bested Robert McCallum 61.14% (329,530) to 38.86% (209,420).

Republican incumbent Chad Hanson defeated challenger Stephen Davis Parker for the Alabama Court of Civil Appeals Place 2 56.36% (264,085) to 43.64% (204,451).

In the Republican primary Rich Anderson defeated Thomas Govan for the open Place 3 seat on the Alabama Court of Civil Appeals 55.26% (259,143) to 44.74% (209,815).

The most closely watched races in the state were the Congressional races in District 1 and District 2 where a federal court redistricted the southern third of the state in September.

In the First Congressional District Republican Congressman Barry Moore (R-Enterprise) defeated Rep. Jerry Carl (R-Mobile) 51.75% (53,805) to 48.25% (50,156) to 51.75%. Carl was the only Alabama incumbent to lose a major race on Tuesday.

In the Republican race for the Second Congressional District former State Senator Dick Brewbaker and attorney Caroleene Dobson both advanced to the Republican runoff in April 39.59% (22,556) to 26.46% (15,075). State Senator Greg Albritton narrowly missed the runoff with 25.34% (14,434). The remaining votes were divided between: Karla M. DuPriest 1.44% (818), Wallace Gilberry 1.46% (834), Hampton S. Harris 2.47% (1,405), Stacey T. Shepperson 1.35% (770), and Belinda Thomas 1.89% (1,076).

On the Democratic side of CD2, Shomari Figures and House Minority Leader Anthony Daniels advanced to the runoff 43.45% (24,825) to 22.36% (12,774). The remaining votes were divided between: James Averhart 2.83% (1,614), State Rep. Napoleon Bracy, Jr. 15.67% (8,954), Sen. Merika Coleman 5.99% (3,420), Rep. Juandalynn "Le Le" Givan 2.19% (1,252), Rep. Jeremy Gray 2.73% (1,561), Phyllis Harvey-Hall 3.50% (1,999), Willie J. Lenard 0.34% (197), Vimal Patel 0.50% (288), and Larry Darnell Simpson 0.43% (245).

In the Third Congressional District, Republican incumbent Congressman Mike Rogers (R-Saks) crushed his two primary opponents. Rogers finished with 81.68% (71,124). Barron Rae Bevels received 5.79% (5,046) and Bryan K. Newell received 12.53% (10,909).

In the Fourth Congressional District, Republican incumbent Congressman Robert Aderholt (R-Haleyville) was awarded 79.69% of the vote (88,859). Challenger Justin Holcomb received 20.31% (22,649).

In the Fifth Congressional District incumbent Dale Strong (R-Huntsville) was unopposed.

In the Sixth Congressional District, Republican incumbent Congressman Gary Palmer (R-Hoover) easily overwhelmed his two challengers. Palmer had 83.25% (76,063), Gerrick Wilkins 10.55% (9,636), and Ken McFeeters 6.20% (5,668).

In the Seventh Congressional District, Democratic incumbent Terri Sewell (D-Selma) cruised to an easy victory 92.61% (59,040) over Chris Davis 7.39% (4,709).

The Seventh District on the Republican side is much more complicated. Career educator Robin Litaker is challenging Sewell in the general election as the Republican nominee, The one wrinkle to this is that she was soundly defeated on Tuesday by talk radio host Chris Horn 58.23% (18,100) to 47.77% (12,981). Horn however had announced in writing to the Alabama Republican Party that he had withdrawn from the CD7 race; but that was too late for him to be removed from the primary ballot.

The Alabama Republican Party confirmed to the Alabama Gazette that Litaker is the nominee.

On the Republican ballot, Susan Mooney won the open Pace 3 seat on the State Board of Education without a runoff with 51.40% (38,507). She defeated Ann Eubank 13.99% (10,480), former State Rep. Charlotte Meadows 23.32% (12,472), and Melissa Snowden 11.29% (8,456).

Allen Long won the open Place 7 seat on the State Board of Education with 60.93% (52,705). He defeated Doug Bachuss 26.94% (23,302) and Oscar Mann 12.13% (10,497).

The statewide constitutional amendment allowing the Legislature to no longer pass a budget isolation resolution (BIR) before passing local bills was narrowly defeated. 48.67% (341,139) voted yes on the amendment and 51.33% (359,770) voted no.

To connect with the author of this story, or to comment, email


Reader Comments(0)