The people's voice of reason

Speaker Ledbetter appoints Rep. Margie Wilcox to Energy Council Executive Committee

On Friday, the Speaker of the Alabama House of Representatives Nathaniel Ledbetter (R-Rainsville) announced that he has appointed Rep. Margie Wilcox (R-Mobile) to the Energy Council's Executive Committee.

The Energy Council is a non-partisan legislative organization comprised of 15 energy-producing states in the United States and two Canadian provinces. Formed in 1975, the Council serves as a forum for energy and related environmental policy dialogue.

Ledbetter said that Rep. Wilcox's strong record representing coastal Alabama, an energy powerhouse, was a key contributor to Speaker Ledbetter's decision to appoint her to the Executive Committee.

"As the landscape surrounding energy-related issues in our state and nation continues to evolve, the importance of the Energy Council's multi-state collaboration becomes more apparent," said Speaker Ledbetter. "Alabama is a significant contributor to U.S. energy, and it's vital our state maintains a strong presence on the Council. Having spent the last decade representing an energy powerhouse in coastal Alabama, Rep. Wilcox brings a vast knowledge that will benefit the Council greatly. I have no doubt that she will help ensure our state continues to play a role in shaping energy policy, and I'm proud to appoint her to this important position."

Rep. Wilcox joins Rep. Phillip Pettus (R-Killeen), State Sen. Gerald Allen (R-Northport) and State Sen. Andrew Jones (R-Centre) on the Executive Committee.

"This is a great privilege and responsibility, and I'm honored Speaker Ledbetter saw me fit to serve in such an important capacity, said Rep. Wilcox. "I look forward to doing all I can to positively represent Alabama on the Council and advocate for commonsense energy policy."

Wilcox was election to the Alabama House of Representatives in a special election in February 2014. She was re-elected in November 2018 and again in 2022. Wilcox is a small businesswoman who owns multiple taxi companies among other ventures.

The organization was formed to provide a forum for state legislators interested in energy policy. Today the member states number fifteen, including West Virginia, Mississippi and Alabama to the East and Colorado, Kansas, Montana, North Dakota, Utah, Wyoming, and Alaska to the West. It allows legislative policymakers to maintain a dialogue and learn more about energy issues of importance to their states, citizens, environment and revenue base. In recognition of the continental nature of energy markets, the Council has welcomed the Canadian Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan, as well.

For energy producing states and provinces, a better understanding of energy markets, technology and policy, as well as related environmental concerns, benefits lawmakers and their constituents.

Alaska Senator Bert Stedman is the Chairman of the Council.

For more information on the Energy Council, please visit


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 05/19/2024 14:26