The people's voice of reason

AG Steve Marshall files brief opposing new Biden rule on stoves and ovens

On Tuesday, Alabama Attorney General Steve Marshall (R) announced that he has joined a Nebraska-led coalition of 22 states in opposing the Biden Administration's strict new energy-efficiency standards for stoves and ovens. The rule is expected to increase the costs for kitchen appliances nationwide.

"Biden believes the rule of law doesn't apply to his Administration, and even as our economy hangs in the balance, he is demanding we purchase new 'energy-efficient' kitchen appliances," stated Attorney General Marshall. "American consumers, not the federal government, should pick the products we use in our homes, workplaces, and schools. From cars to refrigerators and now ovens, Biden's radical agenda is a war on things that work. He's sending our country in the wrong direction, and I cannot wait for November."

The new energy-efficiency standards for stoves and ovens follow similarly strict new regulations on household refrigerators and freezers. Like those regulations, the new rule targeting stoves and ovens was proposed through a little-used procedure known as a "direct final rule," whereby a federal agency skips the normal process of allowing interested parties to submit comments before finalizing a rule. The comment letter calls on the Department of Energy to give the States and consumers an opportunity to critique the rule before it takes effect.

President Biden has abused his rule making powers to pass sweeping new regulations without going through the Congress for a vote. Most of these new rules don't go into effect until after the November 5 election......and in some cases as in his fleet fuel economy standards for automakers don't go fully into effect until after his presidency so voters will not see the full costs of these radical changes when they vote in November.

Joining Attorney General Marshall in signing the comment letter were the attorneys general of Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.

To connect with the author of this story, or to comment, email


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 06/19/2024 04:13