The people's voice of reason

Special Feature - Scholarships

The MidSouth Chapter of the ITPA is proud to award the 2020 Billy D. Young Memorial Scholarship to Josie Layne Hussey.

The Mid-South Chapter of the ITPA is a group dedicated to giving back to the communities we serve and supporting our -employees and their children through scholarships, charitable giving, and disaster relief. The scholarship was established in Mr. Billy D. Young’s memory to support fellow telecommunications workers that are employees of member companies of the Telecommunications Association of the Southeast (TELSE) or the ITPA Mid-South Chapter in educating their children. This scholarship is made available through the MidSouth Chapter and is supported by the individual Pioneer Clubs in the chapter.

Josie is the recipient of a $1,000 scholarship. She is a graduate of Hooper Academy and will continue her education at Troy University. She plans to pursue a degree in Biology or Animal Sciences before enrolling at Tuskegee University for Veterinary School. She is the daughter of Bay and Beverly Davis.

Consideration for the scholarship included academic information, community involvement, sports, clubs, employment, and other extracurricular activities. Additionally, each student submitted a 1,000 word essay. Josie excelled both inside and outside the classroom during her high school career and was much deserved of the award.

The ITPA congratulates you on your hard work and dedication to studies and wishes you the best of luck as you pursue your dreams! Mon-Cre Telephone Coop is a proud member of TELSE and the Mid-South Chapter of the ITPA. For more information, please visit


Alabama Ag Credit Doubles Scholarship Fund

This last semester has been tough on all students in one way or another. Some are missing their high school graduation. Others have had to move off campus earlier than expected. And some students or their families have lost income.

Due to these uncertain times, Alabama Ag Credit has chosen to expand its college scholarship program this year and award 23 scholarships, instead of 10 as initially planned. Each scholarship is valued at $1,000.

“For the Alabama Ag Credit Board of Directors, the decision to more than double our annual scholarship fund was an easy one,” said Doug Thiessen, Alabama Ag Credit chief executive officer. “If there’s ever a time young people need the support and generosity of their community, it’s now. We hope these scholarships will make a difference for the 23 student recipients as they start their next school year – whatever that may look like this fall.”

Congratulations to the association’s 2020 scholarship winners:

Student Name Attending

Shelby Marsh Auburn University

Blake Carroll Auburn University

Peyton Parkman Auburn University

Mathew Prater Auburn University

Alesia McGraw Auburn University

Hudson Hines Coastal Alabama Community College

Caleb Jordan Coastal Alabama Community College

Caleb Powell Coastal Alabama Community College

Nicholas Walton Saunders Enterprise State Community College

Taylor Paris Jacksonville State University

Garrett Barefoot Lurleen B. Wallace Community College

Jacob Meadows Mississippi State University

Caroline Parkman Mississippi State University

Emily Strickland Mississippi State University

Emma Wendland Samford University

Aaron Trawick University of Alabama

Hill Stabler University of Alabama

Reid Shackelford Trenholm State Community College

Noah Carnley Troy University

Rebecca Starling Troy University

Sidney Davis Troy University

Patrick McNeil University of Alabama Birmingham

Chole Nance Wallace Community College

The scholarship program was open to Alabama Ag Credit borrowers’ children and grandchildren attending an institution of higher education.

In addition to this scholarship program, Alabama Ag Credit awards scholarships for students at the two land grant universities in its territory: Auburn University and Tuskegee University.

About Alabama Ag Credit

Alabama Ag Credit is a member of the nationwide Farm Credit System and provides financing for farms, timber and forestry operations, agribusinesses, country homes, recreational land, and other rural property in 40 counties in central and south Alabama. The financing cooperative has offices in Demopolis, Dothan, Enterprise, Monroeville, Montgomery, Opelika, Selma, Spanish Fort, and Tuscaloosa. For more information, visit

Media Contact: Amber Pratt, (334) 270-8687

Director, Marketing & PR,


Reader Comments(0)